The Black Sea


The Black Sea is an inland sea that is ultimately connected to the Atlantic Ocean via the Mediterranean and Aegean Seas and various straits. The catchment area of the Black Sea is six times larger than its surface with the Danube being its main tributary. Bordered by Bulgaria, Georgia, Romania, Russia, Turkey and Ukraine, the Black Sea and its surrounding areas are marked by majestic scenery and a rich cultural and natural heritage.

The Black Sea has an area of 436,400 km2, a maximum depth of 2,206 m and a volume of 547,000 km3 . The longest east-west extent is about 1,175 km.

The Black Sea receives river water from large Eurasian fluvial systems to the north of the Sea, of which the Don, Dnieper and Danube are the most significant. The region's waters, coastlines, floodplains and mountains are home to an incredibly diverse range of wildlife and habitats.

In the Black Sea, one still finds bottlenose dolphins and about 180 species of fish, including tuna, anchovy, herring, mackerel and the famous white sturgeon. Monk seals, sadly, have become extinct here.

The region’s natural wealth is under severe pressure. Pollution, oil spills, marine traffic, invasive species and overfishing threaten the sea and rivers. Excessive and illegal logging, intensive agriculture and unsustainable coastal development are problems on land.  The region is also vulnerable to climate change, which could add to the stress the region's natural systems are already under.


Photo Gallery

Video Gallery

No comments added yet


WWF staff

Occupation: WWF staff
Location: Bulgaria


Edit POI Information

You can edit this Danube + article by adding information - tags, links, photos, videos, content.


Black Sea